Mitchell House 2019

Date: Saturday, 7th September 2019
Location: Mitchell House, Polokwane
SACEE Polokwane
Chief Adjudicator: Kyle Lyle and Mapitsi Tladi



Round 1: This house would ban research leading towards biologically or technologically enhanced humans.

Round 2: This house believes that major film and television awards should abolish award categories separated by gender.

Round 3: This house would prohibit private ownership of art that is deemed to be culturally or historically significant.

Final: This house would make recipients of welfare conditional to passing a financial test.


Round 1: This house believes that governments should break-up Amazon Inc. (Prepared)

Round 2: This house believes that the public should directly  vote for winning individuals for popular awards shows (i.e. Grammy’s and Oscars) as opposed to an Academy Selection Committee. 

Round 3: This house regrets the commercialisation of political social movements e.g. gay pride and women’s’ marches.

Final: This house supports South Africa’s decision to use the military to fight against gangsterism in the Western Cape.

Hall of Fame – Junior

  • Champions Taxila Secondary School
  • 1st Runner-up Capricorn High School
  • 2nd Runner-up Hoërskool Noorderland
  • Best Speaker(shared first place) Mantsi Maremane (Capricorn High School) and Gundo Mukwevho (Capricorn High School)
  • 1st Runner-up Mantswi Ramakgolo (Hoërskool Noorderland)
  • 2nd Runner-up Keletso Mongatane (Taxila Secondary School) and Dawn Dikgale (Capricorn High School)

Hall of Fame – Senior

  • Champion Taxila Secondary School
  • 1st Runner-up Hoërskool Noorderland
  • 2nd Runner-up Eagle’s Nest Christian School
  • Best Speaker  Naledi Sebati (Taxila Secondary School)
  • 1st Runner-up Tsebo Sekole (Capricorn High School), Alicia Mmethie (Eagle’s Nest Christian School) and Tshegofatso Ledwaba (Hoërskool Noorderland)
  • 2nd Runner-up Dichochi Ramotlou (Hoërskool Noorderland)